Maltese Dogs Forum : Spoiled Maltese Forums banner

1 - 13 of 13 Posts

·
Registered
44 Posts
Discussion Starter #1
New to the group here...Have no idea if I am even doing this right. I am not technically inclined! My Charlie is 4 months old today!
He is really doing okay with the going outside thing but is still having accidents. We are down to a couple of accidents a day but he still doesn't give us any warning.. we just have to keep asking every 10 minutes..outside? He will go to the door if you ask him..sometimes. Anyway, if anyone has any advice on the house training bit that would be great! Never had an inside dog, much less one who knows he is KING! :lol: (We do have bells on the door where he can reach...doing the treat thing afterwards, crating at night, blah blah blah..
THANKS!

·
Registered
4,035 Posts
Maybe Charlie has too much freedom roaming around in the house? At four months I think he's doing great. You could try to put him in a pen, or section him off in a room with a gate. Others here will have better suggestions...

Happy 4 month b day charlie!!!

·
Registered
7,840 Posts
Wow! He is still a baby!!!
I would say he is doing great!!!
Keep up the good work and be patient....

·
Registered
6,614 Posts
You dont have a picture in your avatar! We have to get someone to help you out!! I wanna see a pic!

·
Registered
9,288 Posts
He is not having accidents, he has no idea that he has to go outdoors.

1. Every accident is really your fault for not getting him outside in time.

2. Playing puppies may need to go every 10-15 minutes. Sleeping puppies can usually go for 1 hour more than their age in months during the day, but for toy breeds with little bladders it can be a bit less.