Maltese Dogs Forum : Spoiled Maltese Forums banner

1 - 2 of 2 Posts

·
Registered
32 Posts
Discussion Starter #1
A few years ago I worked as a foster with a poodle rescue. One of our dogs was a stranger surrender at a vet office. A man came in with a dangerously matted dirty dog and said ask no questions, I just can’t watch this anymore. He laid the filty baby down and left. Vets and techs spent hours shaving a small female dog. Her right rear leg had grown to the skin on her abdomen and required 3 surgeries to save the leg. During thus cold winter she was kept shaved, in a sweater, in the vets office.
Finally, the day came to release her. I took her and brought the naked little mouse to my father and stepmother. I spent a lot of time with Mandy. She had behavioral issues of course and I realized soon my stepmother was too impatient for a nervous baby who had been abused.
So I became very active in her care. when her hair grew out I took her to a great groomer. I crated her and warned them of her history and told them I had no idea how she would behave.
Imagine my pleasant surprise when I arrived to pick her up. There was a beautiful blonde poodle with pretty ear bows strutting around the woman’s living room. The groomer said she has been groomed before. When she began to groom her Mandy relaxed into the process and loved it.
We had a new dog! Mandys behavior changed . She became more confident, less fearful, and a little demanding of attention. All fine with me.
Shortly after Mandys transformation my stepmother tripped, fell, broke her hip. My father was too frail to stay alone and I had my hands over full. Their doctor, a young woman with 2 children offered to take Mandy sight unseen.