Maltese Dogs Forum : Spoiled Maltese Forums banner

1 - 12 of 12 Posts

·
Registered
522 Posts
Discussion Starter #1
I've heard conflicting theories on this. Many 'experts' say to wait until the pup is at least 6 months because they feel any earlier the pup is not ready to learn.

However, we have all began housetraining at the very beginning. I'm confused.

Every morning we have a 10 minute training session with Izzy. All it consists of is teaching her to come when I call her name. When she gets out of my view I call her name ONCE and she comes flying and skidding across the floor to get that treat that is in my hand. We've seemed to have mastered that in a weeks time. Is she ready for more structured training? Specifically, is it realistic to attempt to teach her to sit still for grooming at her young age? (10 weeks)

Will you please share your thoughts and experiences?

·
Registered
4,035 Posts
I'm not an expert, but I don't see why you shouldn't train a young pup. I got Peanut when he was 12 weeks old. He was already about 80% paper trained. It's a great idea to start with the grooming now too. After Izzy gets used to being handled for hair brushing, teeth brushing, and baths it will make your life sooo much easier!! We just started small. He hated having his nails clipped, so I began with playing with his feet for a few minutes throughout the day. Your quick training sessions are a great idea because it gives Izzy something to do, but it's not so long that she gets bored or frustrated. Just don't go to the groomers or to any kind of class/dog group until Izzy has had all of her shots. :D

·
Registered
9,288 Posts
I know a number of breeders with other breeds who start clicker training in the whelping box!

There is no such thing as too young to start training. For a toy breed, to use treats, you usually have to wait until they have teeth.