Maltese Dogs Forum : Spoiled Maltese Forums banner
1 - 20 of 21 Posts

·
Registered
1,555 Posts
Discussion Starter · #1 ·
Just got back and the little fluff has a urinary tract infection and had impacted anal glands.
My worry is that the vet told me he found crystals in her urine and that her PH was too alkaline. I feed her ACANA kibble. He said this food caused her UTI because it is not regulating her PH level that is why she formed crystals. He told me to look for a food that is proper for this breed that prevents urinary crystals. Any suggestions?

·
Registered
707 Posts
Poor baby. Is she in any discomfort? What do they do for impacted anal glads? Thankfully my two have never had this happen to them but I remember reading something on here about it happening to someone's fluff but can't remember who.

Bianca and Bitsy send her lots of kisses!

·
Registered
5,653 Posts
ooo wow poor baby . im not too familiar with foods as i am a newbie , did her give her meds ? what else did he say ?

·
Registered
1,555 Posts
Discussion Starter · #5 ·
She's on a 14 day schedule of antibiotics and she's acting really quiet and sleepy. I also told the vet I give her alot of our food like oameal,pasta, etc. He said fruits and veggies are ok but not to go overboard. Foods that appear very healthy for us may not be for our fluffs.

·
Registered
6,246 Posts
If your dog's ph is too alkaline, then I would assume that you need to feed it acidic foods, which are usually proteins, or apple cider vinegar. If you feed your dog grains like pasta and oats, they can be very inflammatory and acid-causing. You can buy ph test strips in any pharmacy and test food.

Just my opinion.

·
Registered
847 Posts
I always thought I heard Acana was a great food. What did he mean by a 'proper food for the breed'? It's strange he didn't offer any suggestions.

I hope she's feeling better soon !

·
Registered
13,404 Posts