Maltese Dogs Forum : Spoiled Maltese Forums banner

1 - 20 of 128 Posts

·
Registered
6,614 Posts
Discussion Starter #1
I thought I'd start this topic for our new member maltsmom because of her experience with another forum.

So the question is... if your maltese is above the standard, does that mean your breeder was a bad breeder???

Kodie is tooooo small.... I have been told from a vet that his breeder is a BADD breeder...

I would love to hear everyones views!

·
Registered
2,004 Posts
I don't think so... One turns out bigger and one turns our smaller.. How would a breeder know. I belive they do there best to have a show quallity dog and if not then they become pets. Don't quote me I'm no expert and have not experience in breeding.
But at least that is what our breeder has told us.. She is able to pick out of her litter whith one would be a show dog... I think that is so cool to have an eye like that.

Anyway i think Kodie is gorgeous.... My husban alway comment on his picture... so sweet.

·
Premium Member
21,482 Posts
Originally posted by Nichole@Feb 11 2005, 04:38 PM
This is just my opinion, but I don't believe having a small or large dog necessarily makes a bad breeder.  If the dog in question happens to be a "fluke of nature" and the other dogs in the litter were of reasonable size, then it is just an oddity of nature.  Now, in my opinion, what makes a bad breeder, is someone who purposely breeds two tiny dogs together, with no regard for the welfare of the mother or the pups, just to sell the litter as a "teacup," then yes, they are a bad breeder.  Same with someone who breeds two larger dogs--they are breeding outside of breed standards and producing dogs that are not of "quality," for lack of a better word.
<div align="right">index.php?act=findpost&pid=34899
[/QUOTE]