Maltese Dogs Forum : Spoiled Maltese Forums banner

1 - 15 of 15 Posts

·
Registered
5 Posts
Discussion Starter #1
Forgive me, I am new to the world of Maltese. I've always been a Doberman Mommy, so there is a lot to learn :thumbsup:

I have recently adopted a "full-blooded" Maltese, Winston. :wub: The first grooming revealed one black pigmented eye rim & one pink. This was alarming, but I did the research & understand that it is cosmetic and does not pose a health risk. It gives him character and I'm good with it.

The next thing that other people started commenting about was his blue eyes... LOL- I thought all Maltese had them :huh: Again, I have done some research & understand that this is just another fault, due to poor breeding. :smilie_tischkante:

What I am not clear on and would like advise about is are there any known genetic defects, illnesses, or other health risk that are prone to these blue eyed babies?
I live in fear of something happening to my baby and if I can proactively provide preventative measures to stave off any known risk then I'm all about it.:wub:

Attachments

·
Premium Member
5,467 Posts
Welcome to SM. I know nothing about blue eyed Maltese but I am sure someone on here will be able to help you. Your new baby sure is cute.:wub:

·
Premium Member
15,980 Posts
This is what I found in a past post, by a Breeder.

Chloe is so cute. Maltese have blue eyes when they are born just like humans do. Not as blue as Chloe's though. Usually they change to brown around 6 to 8 weeks old. If both parents carry the recessive gene for blue eyes, you will get a blue eyed Maltese. I have not ever seen one with a blue and brown eye, though. How cute. Some Maltese have hazel eyes. Most breeders and show people worry about this and try to breed for the darker eye. Pigment doesn't have anything to do with eye color.

Come enjoy the MAGIC of Maltese

ADAM
MAGIC'S BELIEVE IN SOMETHING BETTER