Maltese Dogs Forum : Spoiled Maltese Forums banner

1 - 20 of 27 Posts

·
Registered
6 Posts
Discussion Starter #1
I just decided to become a dog's mom; my two kids (10 and 13) think they are the parents but that remains to be seen...

After an exhaustive attempt to adopt an appropriate dog for the kids since it's going to be their first pet, I surrendered to buying a puppy. Even that process has been testing my patience and resilience. Finally, I've gotten in contact with a lady from South, Fran Lovitt. I THINK she's a breeder but not on the AMA list. Does anyone know who she is and if she's a reputable breeder? I'm just trying to check her background to make sure she's not a backyard breeder. I know she has show dogs with incredible championship history. I'm new at this and don't know how the breeder 'thing' works. I know I don't want to add the commercial puppy industry. I went into a "breeder store", they don't call themslves a petstore, and wanted to rescue ALL the dogs there.
HELP!

·
Registered
3,615 Posts
I don't know the breeder, but you could call the AMA contact person for breeder referrals and ask them. Or you could call the local dog club for her area and inquire. I think it's great that you're doing your homework before your puppy arrives. I have three kids who promised that they would help take care of the puppy...that lasted about a week. But I have to tell you, this dog is a pleasure to care for. You'll love the breed.

·
Registered
7,486 Posts
I don't have any info about the breeder that you are asking about. Is she still showing dogs? If so, then that is often a good indication that she is a good source for puppies. Backyard breeders and brokers usually don't have the time or expense that one must go through to show dogs.