Maltese Dogs Forum : Spoiled Maltese Forums banner

1 - 20 of 26 Posts

·
Registered
3,483 Posts
Discussion Starter #1
I mean, I know we were suppose to brush their teeth sooner or later. I just didnt know when. My vet never even told me and they KNEW I was a newbie in doggy care issues. My cousin was like, "YOU DONT BRUSH THEIR TEETH!" For some reason I thought you start doing it when their a year old.

What do you guys use and how often do you brush? There's also these treats I heard about that you can give them and it loosens up their tartar. Are you able to brush less often if you use that? I bought these sticker stuff you stick on your finger and you clean their teeth with your finger. It was cheap, but I'm a little hesitant to use it. Any help will be appreciated.

·
Registered
7,840 Posts
I use greenies and brush his teeth a couple times a month with a doggy toothpaste. I too never knew you were supposed to. Never did my outside dogs.

·
Registered
7,428 Posts
I read somewhere (not sure where) about a great way to brush their teeth. I bought doggie tooth paste and a tooth brush (regular type, not the finger one). Put tooth paste on the tooth brush and work it down into the bristles. You then give it to the dog to chew on. Lexi thinks its a treat. She will chew on the tooth brush when ever she can get to it. I usually hold it for her and change the direction of the tooth brush every so often. I think she does a better job of brushing her teeth then I ever would. Plus it is not a struggle to get it done.

·
Registered
2,863 Posts
i think that the only reason i started brushing the dogs teeth while they were puppies is so that they get used to it.
but definitely do it because malts are known for bad teeth. i brush their teeth like i brush mine, but with doggy poultry flavored toothpaste. and they have doggy mouthwash at petsmart too! i use that after brushing.
and they love the taste.

J

·
0 Posts