Maltese Dogs Forum : Spoiled Maltese Forums banner

CANIDAE

2K views 18 replies 9 participants last post by  Ladysmom 
#1 ·
Puddles has always picked at his food, unless we are trying to eat dinner and someone in our house sneaks him a bite....grrrrrr

I have been feeding him Canidae for 4 months (since we got him). He will eat it but does not wolf it down. I thought maybe he didn't like it and was going to change, but he does weight 8 lbs now. So he is gaining weight and is good on the chart.

I don't understand the ingredients for do's and don'ts. If any one here knows about dog foods, can you please check out the web site and like me know if this is a good product. If its good for him, I will keep him on it.

www.canidae.com

Thanks for any advice you may have. :D

#2 ·
I am not an expert by any means...many people on here are MUCH more knowledgeable about this subject than me...
I looked at the ingredients and it looked ok to me. Looked natural...from what I could tell...real ingredients...said it had coat condtioners and whatnot...that is a plus...I liked the sound of it. I did look to see if I could get it anywhere around here...and i cant. <_< I can order it from petfood direct-and the price was not that bad.
I am not opposed to trying something else myself.
I always wonder about how much Brinkley is eating...he seems to go in spurts-he started on Science Diet-now he is on Purina Pro Plan (neither of which many on here would recommend)-but the vet approved both...and he seems to be thriving on them for sure. His stools are solid and low odor...that is a plus...and at 8 months, he weighs almost 8 pounds-definetely healthy.
Anyway, although I truly understand and believe that there are foods that are better ingredient wise than others...(ie:meat as a first ingredient)...many of the other good/bad comes from each individual's own opinions....likes/dislikes...preferences...etc. That is what I have discovered anyway.