Maltese Dogs Forum : Spoiled Maltese Forums banner

1 - 16 of 16 Posts

·
Premium Member
17,343 Posts
Discussion Starter #1
For those of you that do your own cut downs, do you prefer to use the clippers before the bath; after the bath; or both.

I usually do a brief clip prior to the bath, then blow dry and hand scissor (or sometimes use the clippers) to finish up the blending.

What is your preferred method on clipping?

·
Premium Member
8,543 Posts
That is the question !!!

I clip before the bath for the simple reason that there is less to dry afterward. But I am no expert. You wouldn't believe what tools I use.

·
Premium Member
11,148 Posts
I prefer to clipper a day or 2 after the bath when it's a little fluffy but not dirty. I don't really like to clipper hair on the same day as a bath anyway because I feel they have to spend too much time on the grooming table. I can be pretty slow when it comes to trimming the hair just the way I want it, so they definitely need a break.:blush:

·
Premium Member
2,077 Posts
Well I have been told that clipping dirty hair will dull your clippers so it's not a good idea.

BUT..

I have also seen a respected groomer clip a dog before a bath to save on shampoo - but she has her own sharpener and can sharpen her clippers often.

I usually don't scissor or use clippers before a bath.

·
Registered
46 Posts
I hand scissor then bathe then finish blending.

though I may try your idea momtooboo. I too like to take my time and sometimes you can tell Bentley is thinking he looks fine enough and wants to go play! :)

·
Registered
2,327 Posts
Bathe, trim nails, clean ears and teeth, blow dry (or air dry in this yucky hot, humid weather), then clip body, scissor trim face and ears, clip paw pads, then scissor trim feet. I'm no artist when it comes to grooming but I do feel like the clippers do a smoother job on clean hair with a lot less snag and drag.

·
Registered
17,659 Posts