Maltese Dogs Forum : Spoiled Maltese Forums banner

1 - 20 of 32 Posts

·
Premium Member
236 Posts
Discussion Starter #1
Hey all,

Our youngest Gucci just took about a 3feet fall off a counter onto hard tile. She wipped around when she fell and I heard her hit pretty hard against the tile.

She seemed to not have any sensitive area when I picked her up and felt around her head, but she keeps shaking her head and scratching at one ear???

What do you guys think, at what point do me make a trip to the ER?

·
Registered
3,287 Posts
I cannot give advise from the medical standpoint,but personally I would already be on my way to the E.R. or have a call in to my Vet. Hope she's ok.Please keep us informed.

·
Registered
522 Posts
I would call the vet, if not over the weekend, then first thing Monday. I have no experience but from what I've read, there might be issues down the road. Please keep us informed and give us the good news asap because we will probably all go through something like this sooner or later. Big hugs to you.

·
Registered
7,840 Posts
Awww. The poor thing! I don't have any advice...I would be worried though if you know she hit her head...a call to the vet wouldn't hurt-maybe for some advice of what to look for. Good luck and keep us posted!
Sending kisses and hugs her way!

·
Registered
2,319 Posts
I would definitely call the ER vet and go there if they say to. On the other forum (MO), there was an awful stories about a fall but I am not sure of timing and type of fall.

However, I tend to overpanic and we definitely make too many trips to the vet.

·
Premium Member
236 Posts
Discussion Starter #7
Hey guys,

We just got home. Thank you for all the support and advice.

When I posted we had already called the Vet, they told us not to bring her in but keep a close eye on her.

I was still a little worried so I wanted some second opinions from other maltese people, so I posted before we left to come home.