Maltese Dogs Forum : Spoiled Maltese Forums banner

1 - 17 of 17 Posts

·
Registered
117 Posts
Discussion Starter #1
I've been hesitant to post an introduction, cause I am not owned by a malt yet. But, I might as well do it sometime, hm?

My name is Christina.

I am a college student, hailing from the Dallas area.

I am majoring in English, and am toying with the idea of teaching high school literature some day. (The closer I get to that goal, the more I hear from people telling me how awful it is to teach.
)

In January 05, I realized that I wanted to add a companion to my life around January 06. So, I figure it's never too early to start planning for when the time is right.

I have a very good idea about the good and bad of any dog breed under 20lbs. I've had my heart set on a Malt for a very long time, because they were bred to be delightful little companions. I am totally prepared for the maintenence they require, and the patience it takes to train them. I have also considered other breeds, such as the Pug, Yorkie, Pomeranian, Papillon, Japanese Chin, and Shih Tzu. I feel I'd really like a loving companion breed, but I realize every dog has an individual personality.

I am very serious about the kind of dog I will one day get. I am NOT prepared, nor am I planning to go and get a puppy on a whim. No pet shops. No newspapers. No BYB's.

I have a list of breeders the length of my arm that I want to talk to. Some live as far as 4 hours away (Veranda, Riverwalk, Rhapsody) but I'm always up for a road trip, so I'd visit them in a heartbeat.

Of all the breeds I've looked at, I keep finding that Maltese puppies cost way more than other breeds. I would even go so far as to say they are the most expensive breed recognized by the AKC. However, I was raised with my father constantly teaching me to get the very best when making a serious investment.