Maltese Dogs Forum : Spoiled Maltese Forums banner

1 - 20 of 20 Posts

·
Registered
776 Posts
Discussion Starter #1
Hi everyone!

I’ve been lurking here for a few weeks, reading much about your incredibly adorable pups and pretty much anything else I could learn. This forum is so friendly and interesting and supportive, I can't wait to get to know you all more!

I’m in search of advice and guidance, and maybe you lovely folk can help me out. Basically, I have decided that I am ready for a small dog of my own.

About me: I’m a medical student at the University of Miami, Florida. I’m 23. I spend a lot of time studying in my apartment and taking walks around South Beach, and throughout the past ten months or so, I’ve been overcome by the small-dog-love culture that exists here. When I was growing up, my family always had cats (my dad wouldn’t let us get a dog), so I’ve got an ingrained preference toward cats already – but the culture here has been “converting” me to the beauty of a small dog! (Also, though I might have preferred a cat as a starter pet, my roommate is allergic to cats, which limits my options.) Basically-- I need a companion, a small and friendly dog that I can train to not yap incessantly, can be left alone sometimes while I go to class, but loves me. My long-term serious boyfriend lives five hours away, and will continue to be long-distance for several more years, and I get very lonely sometimes – I hope that my future furry little friend can help keep me company and distracted!