Maltese Dogs Forum : Spoiled Maltese Forums banner
1 - 9 of 9 Posts

·
Registered
1,387 Posts
Discussion Starter · #1 ·
Today I went shopping. I hate to admit this but very rarely do I look at prices with a lot of scrutiny. Today I went to PetCo/ PetSmart for wee wee pads and K9 Advantix.

The wee wee pads were priced about $1.00-$0.50 per pad. I thought geez that seems high. I didn't buy them because I was going also to Walgreen's and I wanted to compare the incontinence pads for human use ( virtually the same pads ) and guess what? They were less than 20 cents a pad- closer to 17 cents.

I also scrutinized the price of K9 Advantix...it was $65.89 for 4-4mL doses for a over 55 lb dog OR $58.65 for a 11-20 lb dog 4-1mL doses.........well me being a nurse I wanted to see the concentration strength......they were identical. So I calculated the dose for every 2 lbs of dog..........0.08mL for every 2 lb .... I could dose Twinkle ( 2.6 lb), Mimi ( 3.6lb), Emma ( 7 lb) and Katie (40 lb) all with 1 tube of 4mL ( the amount for 1- 55 lb dog) all I needed was a way to measure the amount. I went to Walgreen's and bought 4 TB ( 1mL in hundredths of a mL) syringes for $1.00 and drew up the exact amount for each one......from 1 tube !

The Bayer company would not approve. But I feel safer not over dosing my tiny girls and I resent how they package these meds for maximum profit not dog safety............they sell 4 - 1mL tubes for almost as much as 4 -4mL tubes. So I feel happy and I saved a boat load of money.........not bad for 1 day.

·
Registered
Frankie, Kelsey, & Poochie. Tanner & Jamie at The Bridge
3,597 Posts
Tanner & Frankie get Frontline. The lowest dose is for dogs up to 22 pounds. Since Frankie came to live here last year, I've been splitting the dose between the two of them. And nobody has fleas. You might want to check the price on Entirely Pets. I've found them to be pretty competitive.

·
Registered
707 Posts