Maltese Dogs Forum : Spoiled Maltese Forums banner

1 - 4 of 4 Posts

·
Registered
69 Posts
Discussion Starter #1
Hello again everyone! I’m alive and well (for the most part haha). I didn’t want everyone to think that I just disappeared off the face of the earth and I also wanted to let you all know that Sugarplum is still doing good. These past 6 weeks or so have been very very stressful and difficult. This world has changed so suddenly and drastically, and not for the better. As a nurse, it’s been no walk in the park. I guess I shouldn’t really complaint because there are many, many nurses, doctors, other healthcare professionals (let’s not forget non clinical workers such as security and environmental) as well as others who are still working who are not in the healthcare workers who have it much worse, but it’s still been stressful. I’m a psychiatric nurse in a 100+ bed psychiatric hospital in an urban area, and we’ve still been deeply affected by COVID. I feel we have done the best job that we can to prevent the spread given the circumstances. Our admissions department has a screening process when they receive intakes (or referrals) and they have turned some potential patients away due to potentially having COVID. Some patients had developed signs/symptoms after being admitted into the hospital. Everyone who enters the facility (including employees) gets their temperature checked; anyone with a temp of 100 degrees or higher is denied entry. All patients’ temperatures are checked twice daily; any patient with a temp of 100 is sent to a unit in which was converted into a designated isolation/quarantine unit. Labs are drawn, and we now (for about the past 4 weeks) have had the ability to test for COVID. Once a patient has been cleared, they are transferred back to a regular unit, and most of them have been. I’m happy to report that we have had only three confirmed cases; that’s pretty good in my mind as I would have expected many, many more. As a matter of fact, th