Maltese Dogs Forum : Spoiled Maltese Forums banner

1 - 19 of 19 Posts

·
Registered
77 Posts
Discussion Starter #1
Hi you guys...

Im Back I see a view changes, "Not Bad"... My baby boy Maltese will be 2years old in March... And i want to get another Maltese a girl this time..... It seems like alot of people will not sell me a girl Maltese unless i get her spayed..... What's up with that? Im still looking around....

It feels good to be Back....

Love Bushi's Mom

·
Registered
7,486 Posts
Hello,
It sounds like maybe you used to post here but have been gone for a while. I'd love to see a photo of your little guy.

I'm no expert on this subject but my experience is that unless you plan to show your dog, a good breeder will sell you a pet quality dog. The pet quality dogs have some characteristic that disqualifies them from being shown. Since good breeders only want to breed for the best breed characteristics they will require that pet quality dogs be spayed. This is very standard with responsible breeders. I have to get my female puppy spayed. If I don't do so then I will not be able to get the papers from the breeder to register her with the AKC. If I wanted to breed Maltese (and I don't) then I would need that registration to be able to sell the puppies as purebred Maltese and get a decent price. No one is forcing me to have the dog spayed, but I will honor my contract with the breeder and do so. Besides that, I don't have any interest in breeding dogs. I think this sums up the general reasoning behind the spay/neuter agreement. Like I said, this is only what I have learned in purchasing a couple of purebred dogs through the years. If I've missed something someone else will add it.

Welcome to the site.
Susan

·
Registered
1,122 Posts
Hi MyBushi,