·
Premium Member
2,955 Posts
Discussion Starter #1
Today was a pretty crummy day. I was told that there will be
no teaching position available for me in the fall. Two of my
closest friends on the teaching staff were also laid off. Nine
teachers in all will be laid off from our very small district. Since
this is my first year in the district, I am non-tenured and was cut.

I am hoping that I find another job during the summer, but with
all of the cuts being made in education, I really doubt that I will.

The only good thing is that I'll be able to spend more time with
my boys :wub: and thank God for them... I really believe that
without them I would be lost.

Thanks for listening to me vent...

Debbie

·
Registered
863 Posts
I am SO sorry! This world seems so screwed up sometimes. Education is where we should be spending more of our money not less! I hope you find something soon and I know your pups will be a great support.

·
Registered
1,885 Posts
I'm so sorry. I teach, and until I got tenure (many years ago), I was always stressed out around this time of year. Things will work out for you.

·
Premium Member
24,019 Posts
Oh, Debbie. I'm so sorry.:smcry: I know this has been looming over you since we went to Westminster, not knowing if you'd be cut or not, but fearing it. This is one of these cases where your talent doesn't matter...it's a matter of budget and seniority. I know you'll be missed. I'm hoping that as a special ed teacher you'll still be able to get a spot somewhere. Any chance of tutoring in the meantime? As you said, now you'll have more time with the boys. You took such great care of Harry lately that he'd like some more, please. Good luck and hope to see you if you get into the city. :hugging:

·
Premium Member
4,225 Posts
:grouphug: Sorry. I hope you have luck finding something soon. :grouphug:

·
Registered
1,064 Posts