Maltese Dogs Forum : Spoiled Maltese Forums banner

1 - 19 of 19 Posts

·
Registered
2,415 Posts
Discussion Starter #1
This might be a long post, so feel free to flee

I have a dilemma. I'm a grad student (English) and I recently found out about a teaching position (also English) opening up near my house next fall. It's a great school with only 200 students. Its a college prep oriented charter school. I have wanted to teach for a long time, but I've also been bouncing around thinking maybe I should try to open my store (most of you already know about it, I thought about opening a dog clothing store so the dogs could go to work with me).
I just don't know which dream to follow. Sometimes I think I just want the store so the dogs can go to work with me and I might be giving up a great job with retirement and insurance. Also, I'm single and I want to adopt someday, and teaching would give me the same holidays and my child. I feel so confused. I really don't know if I should send in a resume or not. I want too much I think. I know I could teach and save money to do the store thing later, but my grandmother was a teacher for twenty years so I know through watching her that teaching isn't something you can do half-heartedly. I love the idea of teaching, I guess I'm just scared. Ok, so now that I've taken up so much space rambling, I guess what I'm asking is this:
Will Bella and Harley understand that I have to work to provide for them? I know its a silly question, but I also know this forum is the one place full of people who love their dogs as much as me and won't laugh at this question

Teachers, do you like teaching now as much as you did when you started? Or were you scared to death the first day but maybe you like it now?

Do you think in the long run I will have more time with the dogs as a teacher than I would as a small business owner?

What grade level do you prefer? (There is an opening at the same school for first grade)