Maltese Dogs Forum : Spoiled Maltese Forums banner
1 - 3 of 3 Posts

·
Registered
1 Posts
Discussion Starter · #1 ·
Hello All!

I got a Maltese back in August from a breeder. It's been going well, she's very well behaved and seems to enjoy spending time with me. Seems very social so far!
When I got her, the breeder said she had some tearing but I could keep up with it by keeping her eyes/face clean. I'm trying but I'm still new to all of this.

-So I had done some reading on here, and I switched her to filtered/bottled water and stainless steel bowls.
-It does seem like it's helped a little, it's not as bad as when I got her. But the other thing she does is itch her ears with her hind leg and lick her paws. The paws have turned brown/rust color (it's more on the bottom side).

-Took her to the vet, she said it's allergies. She gave her: Apoquel. Didn't seem to help at all after 15 days. She said there wasn't much else to try at this point, so I went to another vet to get another opinion.

-The new vet also said it's allergies but said she wanted to give her a shot of: Cytopoint. It did seem to help with the itching and licking but it came back after a few weeks. Just took her to the vet again last Friday and she wanted to try another shot of Cytopoint.
I'm not sure if it's helping yet or not, maybe a little.

-As for the Tear Stains, I've been trying to clean around her eyes 2-3 times a day. I've been using Eye Envy and it seems to help a little. But as soon as I think it's getting better, they start leaking/tearing again and get the rust color stains. Try to keep the hair trimmed around the eyes as well to help.

So she's right around 17 months, do you think she should be outgrowing the tearing by now? I've read it's normal in puppies/teething but I think she's past the puppy phase correct? I've also read about tear ducts, but none of the vets mentioned anything like that.