Maltese Dogs Forum : Spoiled Maltese Forums banner

1 - 20 of 94 Posts

·
Registered
3,899 Posts
Discussion Starter #1
I have always researched nutrition as a hobby. But since Meow Meow was diagnosed with cancer, I resolved also to replace as many toxic household and personal care products with non-toxic, all-natural products to the extent possible....

I'm a complete novice at this...I know there are some on the board that have expert knowledge of this....and I hope they chime in and help/correct me where I'm incorrect, or help suggest other products that they love.

But since I researched this for a couple days, I thought I would share my list that I came up with of products had the LOWEST toxicity on Environmental Working Group's cosmetic database with the HIGHEST user ratings on Makeupalley.com and Vitacost.com....I eliminated brands that I could not find at a common retailer or not enough people reviewed...

I was shocked to find that many organic brands in fact use toxic ingredients and you have to check the products one by one...The same company that produces a toxic score of 1 shampoo could also produce a toxic score of 6 moisturizer!! Here's my list of products and their toxicity score from EWG in case it saves someone work:

LIP BALM
BADGER ORGANIC LIP BALM, UNSCENTED 0

SOAPS
Kiss My Face - Olive Oil Soap Fragrance Free 0
Tom's of Maine Natural Deodorant Body Bar Lemongrass 0

BODY MOISTURIZERS
L'Occitane - Mom and Baby Balm 0
California Baby Calendula Cream 1
Shikai Borage Dry Skin Therapy Lotion 2

DEODORANTS
Tom's of Maine - Natural Long-Lasting Deodorant Lemongrass 0
Almay Antiperspirant & Deodorant, Clear Gel, Unscented 1
Ban Classic Invisible Solid Antiperspirant & Deodorant, Unscented 1

SHAMPOOS
Pantene - Brunette Expressions Shampoo 1
Free & Clear Shampoo for Sensitive Skin & Scalp 1
California Baby Shampoo & Bodywash Super Sensitive 1

CONDITIONERS
Beauty Without Cruelty Conditioner, Rosemary Mint Tea Tree 2