Maltese Dogs Forum : Spoiled Maltese Forums banner

1 - 10 of 10 Posts

·
Registered
6,614 Posts
Discussion Starter #1
I work in the computer field incase you dont know and I was talking to some of my co-workers about how a lot of people have cancer that work around us. I work at a FAA tech center were we test a lot of computer systems. There is a LOT of equiptment in our labs and working in there all day long HAS to cause CANCER. Radiation causes cancer, right? I was told our home PC's have radiation too.. but is it a lot?
I'm not even exaggerating when i say this but ... i started this job last year in july and since then I know of 5 people that have either died... or been diagnosed with cancer... they all have been working here for at least 10yrs each. Those are only the people my team know... there are sooo many other project teams at this tech center... and I can only imagin how many more people have cancer in those.

Do you think i'm being paranoid?? I guess I am but there is radiation from all this equiptment.
WHY did I pick computer science to be my major?!? And the money isnt even that good...

·
Registered
2,319 Posts
I think to cause cancer radiation has to be quite significant and I am not sure that there is significant output of radiation from computers. What kind of cancers are people around you being diagnosed with? How old are they? Cancer is one of the leading causes of death and its not always the environmental exposure (although they definitely do contribute). I would first try to figure out if there is radiation output from computers and if so, how much before I would worry

PS. I was living 90 miles from Chernobyl accident when it happened in Russia (and then we lived there for at least another 4 or 5 years) and I am still here

·
Registered
2,004 Posts
Kodie, you’re definitely correct. You’re not being paranoid. I'm failure with the kind of environment you are working in. I used to work in an environment that had a lot of computers too.