994 Posts
Discussion Starter #1
Lately my Maxi who will be 7 months on april 16th
has been doing this weird thing
you know when a pup is wet and they shake it off
well he has been doing that a few times a day and im nervous about this
does anyone elses baby do that
i called my vet and asked the asst on the phone
she said due to the fact that Maxi has an ear infection maybe he is getting one again , i have an appt for him on monday of next week other than him doing this shaking himself off thing
he doesnt act sick

·
Registered
939 Posts
I have no experience with White Shaker syndrome, but below is a link to a good article.

From your post it sounds like Maxi is shaking like he is wet and trying to get water off, not shivering. Tiki will do this often when we are playing. From the article I found (and other sites I have looked at) it sounds like the White Shaker Syndrome is identified by excessive body tremors.

VetCentric

Hope this helps, let us know what you find out from the vet.

Judi

·
Registered
7,741 Posts
it is common for dogs to shake their heads when they have an ear infection, because there is a buildup down the canal and they are trying to shake it out...also it can itch. is he just shaking his head or the whole body?

·
Registered
994 Posts
Discussion Starter #4
Thanks everyone , no he is shaking off more of his head
he did have an ear infection a few weeks ago but i have been smelling his ears and it doesnt appear to have any small
he is being neutered next thursday and monday he is being groomed at the vets so im thinking i will have them examine him again

J

·
0 Posts
I had a black lab who use to shake his head...and when he did I knew he had an ear infection. He had a lot of ear infections in his life so everytime he started shaking his head off to the vet we would go. I wouldn't wait until next week to have the vet check, if it is an ear infection you want to start him on medication now before it gets worse.

·
Registered
7,741 Posts