Maltese Dogs Forum : Spoiled Maltese Forums banner

1 - 20 of 21 Posts

·
Registered
2,415 Posts
Discussion Starter #1
Hi everybody! For those of you who use play pens for when you have to leave your puppy at home, how does this work? Bella has always had the run of the house (she just isn't interested in anything but food and sleep, and we're puppy proofed). However, my brother is getting a puppy and we don't know how curious she will be about his apartment, so he is thinking about buying a play pen for while he's at school. My question is, do they have enough room for food and water bowls? He is at school for awhile. Also, he is going to be training her to use pee pads instead of going outside, is there room for that too? I know most dogs won't sleep or eat near where they use the bathroom, so what do we do? I have no experience with crating or playpens, so I'm baffled

·
Registered
7,428 Posts
Ok, first questions. What kind of puppy? How long will the puppy be by itself?

If he has room I would recommend getting an exercise pen (5ft. octagon or 4ft square). There is plenty of room for a crate, food, water and pee pad. I already have one for Lexi and don't have room for a second one so for my second puppy I got a baby play pen. Lexi's exercise pen is the 24" high one.

·
Registered
2,415 Posts
Discussion Starter #3
Originally posted by Lexi's Mom@May 24 2005, 09:19 AM
Ok, first questions.  What kind of puppy?  How long will the puppy be by itself?

If he has room I would recommend getting an exercise pen (5ft. octagon or 4ft square).  There is plenty of room for a crate, food, water and pee pad.  I already have one for Lexi and don't have room for a second one so for my second puppy I got a baby play pen.  Lexi's exercise pen is the 24" high one.
<div align="right">index.php?act=findpost&pid=64725
[/QUOTE]