Maltese Dogs Forum : Spoiled Maltese Forums banner

1 - 6 of 6 Posts

·
Registered
7,840 Posts
I know it makes you mad, but I think it is so funny!

Especially the "smiling when they are panting" part. I think that too!!!

I am by no means an expert, but I think what you are doing now is probably the best thing. I would probably not even worry about the time out at this point. That may be what started the "running away"-I think what works best for Brinkley is flat out ignoring him. I scold him harshly, whether I can catch him or not-and then just ignore him. We have a gate to block him out of the hall too...so if I don't put him in time out in his kitchen, then I go over the hall gate to my room or the bathroom and ignore him. When I come back he is usually sitting at the gate with his nose through the hole. When I come back in the living room...he is very loving and repentful. He HATES to be ignored. I think they pick up on our emotions very easily. The ignoring is probably just about the same principle and as effective as the time out.

I still smile and laugh
when I think about your story.
What funny babies they are!!!

Good luck!!! :D

J

·
0 Posts
I tell Lacey to sit in a very loud voice. She knows she is in trouble and she will lay down on her back and wait for me to pick her up. She then gets a time out for about 10 minutes. She has learned that in the morning before I go to work to run around so I can't catch her. Now I keep her close to me in the morning using baby gates. These little babies are so smart. I know that Lacey does not like to be ignored, it hurts her feelings. She will lay her little head down and just give me sad little eyes.

·
Registered
942 Posts
I have a bottle with coins in it that I either shake or drop to the ground when she is doing something wrong. She usually gets startled enough to stop running around.