Maltese Dogs Forum : Spoiled Maltese Forums banner
1 - 20 of 25 Posts

·
Registered
7,428 Posts
Actually there are a lot of other brands that are better. Both use by-products and fillers. Some good brands are Innova, Flint River, Chicken soup for the dog lovers soul. There are more but that is all I can remember now. If you do a search on this site you will find a bunch of other threads about this topic.

·
Registered
285 Posts
Discussion Starter · #4 ·
leise is currently eating wellness.. but the vet recommended science diet to her today.. so yeah.. i'm just on a food search.. don't know what the best thing for her would be. (it's my first time owning a puppy..)

·
Registered
7,428 Posts
Originally posted by foX42O@Oct 6 2005, 04:15 PM
leise is currently eating wellness.. but the vet recommended science diet to her today.. so yeah.. i'm just on a food search..  don't know what the best thing for her would be.  (it's my first time owning a puppy..)
<div align="right">index.php?act=findpost&pid=107219
[/QUOTE]
A lot of times vets recommend science diet and eukanuba because that is what they were told in school is good. I've heard in some schools vets only get 1 class on nutrition and that a lot of times it is taught by a rep from science diet or eukanuba. You want to get a product that has a meat in the first 3 ingredients. You want to try and get one that doesn't have a grain in the first 3 ingredients. Wellness is a pretty good food I think.

Here are the ingredients for the Super5Mix Puppy:
Ingredients
Deboned Chicken, Chicken Meal, Oatmeal, Ground Barley, Salmon Meal (natural source of DHA), Canola Oil (preserved with mixed tocopherols, a natural source of vitamin E), Ground Brown Rice, Rice Bran (from brown rice), Tomatoes (natural source of lycopene), Natural Chicken Flavor, Rye Flour, Ground Millet, Flaxseed, Carrots, Apples, Spinach, Blueberries, Sweet Potatoes, Potassium Chloride, Calcium Carbonate, Dicalcium Phosphate.[/B]

·
Premium Member
4,916 Posts