Maltese Dogs Forum : Spoiled Maltese Forums banner
1 - 20 of 24 Posts

·
Registered
2,327 Posts
I believe that alot of the information circulating about microchips is in reaction to legislation proposed a few years ago that would have required all livestock in the U.S. to be microchipped thus enabling USDA to trace tainted meat back to a specific animial or herd. No surpise that the cattle industry, for one, was opposed, claiming that the cost/benefit ratio of microchipping every cow, sheep, goat, lamb, etc. would be a big negative. And who, pray tell, from USDA had the time to be chasing cows to scan for microchips. Unfortunately, rather than oppose the legislation with sensible arguments they hired "experts" to dig up data supporting a claim that all animals with microchips are going to get cancer. I have no personal knowledge of any dog getting any kind of tumor or cancer as a result of having a microchip. My personal experience with microchips -- 8 dogs over 10+ years -- has been cancer free for which I am very thankful. I will continue to microchip until I have a more solid reason not to.

MaryH

·
Registered
5,656 Posts
I didn't read the article yet, so I can't comment on it. However, when I got Toby as a puppy, I thought about having him microchopped, but I had this overwhelming gut reaction (that is the best way I can describe it) to not have him microchipped. I still stand by that decision now.

·
Registered
847 Posts
I haven't gotten Leila microchipped either. I thought I read something somewhere about the chip possibly "wandering" around under the skin over time, and the idea of that creeped me out a little. Plus, Leila would most certainly never be in the position to be 'lost', so the only remotely possible (terrifying) option is that she would be stolen, in which case they clearly wouldn't be taking her in to be scanned for her chip.

·
Registered
3,528 Posts