Maltese Dogs Forum : Spoiled Maltese Forums banner

1 - 20 of 21 Posts

·
Premium Member
2,955 Posts
Discussion Starter #1
We got Teddy's "thundershirt" today in the mail. It's a shirt that uses
consistent pressure to calm a dog down. As a special education teacher, I know that we use this principle with autistic children sometimes.... they will often have weighted vests or the therapist will give them deep tissue massage to calm them down.... so I figured why not try it with Teddy, since he is a verrrrryyyy hyper and scared dog. We just got it today, so I have no reviews on how it works... but he looks so darn cute in it, that I had to share his picture!

Here's Teddy modeling his new "thundershirt":

teddy2edited.jpg

Sorry about his dirty face... he was checking out the back yard and he always manages to get dirty...lol.

teddy1edited.jpg

I'll let you know if the "thundershirt" does anything for him!!!

Thanks for looking.
Debbie

·
Premium Member
24,019 Posts
Oh Debbie - Teddy looks too cute in that shirt.:wub: I hope it works. Is it really tight to give him that pressured feeling?
BTW off topic, but speaking of autism.Did you see the number of Emmy's that tv movie on the woman Temple Grandin who has autism garnered? My friend shot a documentary piece with Grandin several years ago. I remember her telling me how she went into cow stalls to feel the pressure of those apparatus I guess used to hold the cattle in place.

·
Premium Member
17,343 Posts
Debbie -- I really hope it helps Teddy. I got one for Lacie this year (in pink no less) and it's helped her immensely. She's still frightened a little but will sit beside me instead of hiding under the bed and just being completely panic stricken.

Please let me know how it works for Teddy. I love ours because it has helped so much. :)

·
Registered
2,993 Posts