Maltese Dogs Forum : Spoiled Maltese Forums banner

1 - 17 of 17 Posts

·
Registered
2,119 Posts
Discussion Starter #1
Hello, all. My darling puppy just started teething at 18 weeks =]

What should we expect? We've already found two places that she's lost teeth, even though we couldn't find the teeth =[

So - any tips? Chewtoys? We have a Kong chewie which she seems to adore. Any types of treats or food that'll help?

Also, are all her teeth going to fall out, even the big pointy ones?

Sorry about all the questions =\ I'm still new at this!

Thanks everyone.

Jessica

·
Registered
7,428 Posts
What should we expect? We've already found two places that she's lost teeth, even though we couldn't find the teeth =[
Puppies teeth until they are 6/7 months old. Most of the time you won't find them because they are swollowed (sp bad).

So - any tips? Chewtoys? We have a Kong chewie which she seems to adore. Any types of treats or food that'll help?
I recommend keeping a mixture of soft and hard toys. Lexi loves the nylabone dental bone (the one with the little nubs).

Also, are all her teeth going to fall out, even the big pointy ones?
All of the teeth will fall out and be replaced by less sharp ones. You will be able to feel the difference.

·
Registered
7,428 Posts
No problem. Oh, another thing to keep in mind is that if you are having your baby spayed to talk to the vet about removing any retained baby teeth when she is under. That way she only has to be put under once.

·
Premium Member
21,482 Posts
While Catcher was being groomed (groomer is at the vet's office), I had the vet check his teeth. He said that Catcher has about 7 retained baby teeth. The vet said he had a "mouth full of teeth". He said his adult teeth have come in just fine and the baby teeth aren't causing any problems now but if allowed to stay will get a lot of tarter on them, etc. and they should come out within a month or two.