Maltese Dogs Forum : Spoiled Maltese Forums banner

1 - 12 of 12 Posts

·
Registered
389 Posts
Discussion Starter #1
I've never used dog food before. I decided before I got Preston that my cooking days are over. It's just too much work and hard to know if the dog is getting the right amount.

I chose Evo small bites because it has a lot of protein and no grain and seemed like a good food. He is pooping SO much! Healthy poops, but still so often. This morning he went when he first woke up and twice after that. And a good amount each time.

I'm starting to think there's a lot of filler in this food. He's obviously not absorbing much, and he eats so little! Any suggestions???:unsure:

·
Premium Member
3,646 Posts
I had Mercedes on Evo, I had to take her to the vet because I thought she may have a bladder infection, she had bloodwork done and her BUN and creatine were elevated. I thought it could be related to her food, Dr did not think so. I swithched her to Wellness and had her tested 3 weeks later and her BUN and creatine were normal. Not sure if it was the Evo, but I think it is to high in protien for toy breeds JMO.

·
Premium Member
10,319 Posts
I feed Wellness, small bite, 5 mix or something like that. My bag is downstairs and I can't get to it right now. Anyway, the girls love it~~:chili:

·
Registered
17,659 Posts
Are you feeding the amount according to the package directions? You usually have to feed on the lower end of the recommended amount to avoid weight gain with Evo.

FYI, Evo has a very high fat content, more than most of the other grain free foods.

·
Registered
6,246 Posts
I'm not a huge fan of Evo or Innova foods. My holistic vet tried to sell me on the brand a couple of years ago and I tried it when Nikki was a puppy. But imo, the food quality isn't so great compared to others. I've heard that Fromm is a quality food, but I've not tried it and so I have no way of knowing whether that is true.