Maltese Dogs Forum : Spoiled Maltese Forums banner

1 - 20 of 21 Posts

·
Premium Member
1,957 Posts
Discussion Starter #1
Sophie had her spay on Tuesday, came home that night and is doing GREAT, you wouldn't know she had surgery. If anything I am having to watch that she doesn't do too much.

Our "recheck" is next Thursday, 15 days after her surgery, she has internal dissoluble stitches (no stitches outside). I asked when I could bathe her and the Vet Tech said not til her recheck. SERIOUSLY?

I am a Cardiac Nurse and we send our Open Heart patients home with instructions to shower by day 4. I know it isn't the same but TWO WEEKS? Her back end is already in need of some attention, I'm trying to figure out how to wash that with out getting her belly wet.

Is two weeks normal?

·
Registered
5,433 Posts
I am in then same situation now. Lola was spayed yesterday, she is so far in great shape, buuuuuut this morning she went to poo and OMG. all stuck to her. I insisted on bringing her home, good I did I think because she woke me at 5 in the need to go, she would have been sitting in it for hours at the vets. I had to do a fairly thorough job, usually this would have been straight in the sink. My hubby had to hold her still while I used the no rinse shampoo, being very careful to not go near her stitches. Took me a good 1/2 hr. Not a good start to the day.

Anyway, yes, the vet said 10-14 days before a bath. She is wanting to be active so she is confined in her crate, she is on a mix of pain meds that uses morphine and metacam, hopefully that will knock her out.

·
Registered
67 Posts
My maltese had a really rough time with her spay recently, it is 8 days since her spay and she is only just getting back to normal.