Maltese Dogs Forum : Spoiled Maltese Forums banner
1 - 16 of 16 Posts

·
Registered
1,672 Posts
Discussion Starter · #1 ·
In today's WSJ there was an article about cancer treatment for dogs being used to test human cancer treatments. These are dogs whose cancer is such that it is inoperable or untreatable by existing methods. The dog in the article had a tumor that they were able to shrink enough to perform the surgery to remove and he is fine now except for a runny nose!

But what I found most interesting in the article is that Purdue University's Veterinary School has found (no surprise, really) a link between cancer in animals and lawn chemicals.

So, while I am no expert on organic gardening I will continue to share what I know and do in that regard. In fact, I just found a product called Neem Spray for flea prevention that you can spray weekly on dogs and cats. It washes off when you bathe them so it must be reapplied. I don't know much about it yet but I know my organic gardening guru here in San Antonio talks about Neem Oil spray for tree and leaf pests.

I just wonder how oily it really is and what it makes the coat look like.......if they will refund my money if I'm not satisfied I may try it when Pico's Advantage runs out.

·
Premium Member
21,482 Posts
Originally posted by Pico's Parent@Jul 7 2005, 01:34 PM
In today's WSJ there was an article about cancer treatment for dogs being used to test human cancer treatments.  These are dogs whose cancer is such that it is inoperable or untreatable by existing methods.  The dog in the article had a tumor that they were able to shrink enough to perform the surgery to remove and he is fine now except for a runny nose!

But what I found most interesting in the article is that Purdue University's Veterinary School has found (no surprise, really) a link between cancer in animals and lawn chemicals.