Maltese Dogs Forum : Spoiled Maltese Forums banner

1 - 7 of 7 Posts

·
Registered
199 Posts
Discussion Starter #1
I am planning to get Bella spayed over the christmas break (I'm a grad student). She will be just a week under 6 months when I want to have it done. I have a couple of questions...is that too early? The vet seems ok with it but I just wanted to see what others thought. Also, I might plan a trip (3 1/2 hours by car) about 6 or 7 days after her sergery. Will she be ok to travel? We will be going to my parents' house so she has been there before and is very comfortable there.

Thanks for the input! I love having this outlet to discuss my questions!
Nicolle

·
Registered
7,428 Posts
It is recommend to have females spayed at 6 months because they can go into heat as early as 7 months. If you have them spayed before they go into heat they have better chance of NOT getting cancer.

·
Registered
3,483 Posts
I agree with Lexi's mom. Perfect age and after the 6th day, Bella should be normal. She probably will be sleeping in the car anyway. Take care

·
Registered
7,428 Posts
Is Bella crate trained? If so you could maybe put the crate up in the car while you were driving. This is what I do with Lexi when we go to visit my parents. She sleeps in there the entire trip and I don't have to worry about her getting hurt.

·
Registered
199 Posts
Discussion Starter #6
Originally posted by Lexi's Mom@Nov 4 2004, 11:07 AM
Is Bella crate trained?  If so you could maybe put the crate up in the car while you were driving.  This is what I do with Lexi when we go to visit my parents.  She sleeps in there the entire trip and I don't have to worry about her getting hurt.
<div align="right">index.php?act=findpost&pid=14825
[/QUOTE]