Maltese Dogs Forum : Spoiled Maltese Forums banner

1 - 18 of 18 Posts

·
Registered
13 Posts
Discussion Starter #1
well i was wondering what is a good age for breeding? i have a boy he is about 8 monthes now but what should i no about breeding? what could happen to him any thing bad? i no there is some test i need to do before i breed to see if he is good for breeding but what are the test.. im new at this can any one help?

·
Registered
46 Posts
Originally posted by peanut@Jan 26 2005, 08:09 AM
well i was wondering what is a good age for breeding? i have a boy he is about 8 monthes now but what should i no about breeding? what could happen to him any thing bad? i no there is some test i need to do before i breed to see if he is good for breeding but what are the test.. im new at this can any one help?

<div align="right">index.php?act=findpost&pid=31561
[/QUOTE]

Well, 8 month to me is NOwere close to being old enough to breed.
There is A LOT to know, you can not just say I want too breed and worry later about whats going on. Youre Male should be testet and Vet checked before you even decided to breed him. You already made the choice that YOU are going to breed this Puppy without the Vet check, and without being informed.

DO the right thing, inform youreself first, bring youre Puppy to the Vet have him checked!!! And asked ureself this..
WHY are you going to breed him? DO you have a female? Is the female healthy and healthy enough to carry Puppys? Is she Old enough? What happends if one of the pups gets sick? Are u willing to be responsible and take care of the Puppy?

My BEST Advice is READ READ READ!!!!!!!

not trying to give you a hard time just given you advice,,,,,inform youreself first then breed if you still think thats what you want to do .

·
Registered
17,659 Posts
This question comes up periodically.

Good advice from JMM on a recent discussion here on breeding a male dog (Quinn Poser):

In order for him to be ready to mate you need to: