Maltese Dogs Forum : Spoiled Maltese Forums banner

1 - 20 of 29 Posts

·
Registered
894 Posts
Discussion Starter #1
I have read constantly about "pee pad" training and how great it is. I have a hard time understanding why anyone would want their pup to go in the house, period. I'm not putting anyone down, please don't take it the wrong way, but I just don't understand. I am new to owning this particular breed of dog. All the other dogs we ever had were house broke within a few weeks. Why would you not train a pup to go outside?? I have also read about how difficult it is to "housebreak" the Maltese, is it a breed characteristic? I purchased the "pee pads" for use for the first few weeks, but only to protect the new carpet, (yes, I know how stupid it was to get the carpet BEFORE the puppy). I plan on outside potty training, am I in for a big surprise or what?? What are the benefits of "pee pad" training other than so you don't have to take them out in the cold??

·
Registered
1,812 Posts